India drop Sehwag, call up Pujara


India have dropped Virender Sehwag for the first three matches of the five-ODI series against England, which begins on January 11 in Rajkot. This was a double-blow for Sehwag, who was left out of the XI that beat Pakistan in an ODI earlier in the day. India gave a maiden limited-overs call-up to Cheteshwar Pujara, who scored an aggressive 203 off 221 balls in a Ranji Trophy match last week.
MS Dhoni, India’s best batsman in the three-match one-day series against Pakistan, kept his captaincy despite calls from former selectors for fresh leadership. Rohit Sharma was retained despite poor returns in ODIs of late.
Squad MS Dhoni (capt.), Cheteshwar Pujara, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shami Ahmed, Amit Mishra