Abbasi and Rabia, PHF players of the year


Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) named Shakeel Abbasi as the best men player of the year and Rabia Qadir as the best women player of the year, M Dilbar best junior players of the year in its 49th general counsel meeting held here at the National Hockey Stadium on Monday. Former Pakistan hockey team captain and best player of the year Shakeel Abbasi was handed over ‘Noor Khan Trophy’ with Rs 100,000 cash prize while best women player of the year Rabia Qadir and best junior player of the year M Dilbar were awarded ‘Brig Atif Trophy’ and Rs 50,000 each. Punjab University Vice Chancellor Dr Kamran Mujahid congratulated Rabia Qadir on her great achievement. Rabia is a student of Punjab University Sports and Physical Sciences and also the captain of Pakistan Wapda hockey team. Wapda’s DG Sports Mian Riffat and hockey team manager Sagheer Ahmad also felicitated Rabia on getting best women player of the year award.