England begin World Cup defence against Sri Lanka | Pakistan Today

England begin World Cup defence against Sri Lanka

England will open the defence of their Women’s World Cup by facing Sri Lanka on 2 February in India.
Charlotte Edwards’s team have been drawn in Group A and face India and West Indies in their two other games before the Super Six stage starts.
World Cup group games
31 Jan: India v West Indies Australia v Pakistan.
1 Feb: New Zealand v South Africa
2 Feb – England v Sri Lanka
3 Feb – New Zealand v Pakistan, Australia v South Africa
4 Feb – India v England , Sri Lanka v West Indies
5 Feb – Pakistan v South Africa, Australia v New Zealand
6 Feb – India v Sri Lanka, England v West Indies
Group B is made up of Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa.
Hosts India open the tournament on 31 January against the West Indies, with the final held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 17 February.
Tournament Director, Suru Nayak said: “The tournament will be played in the city of Mumbai, which holds a special place in the history of the sport.
“The world’s leading female cricketers will display their skills on grounds where some of the greatest cricketers of all time have practically grown up.”
Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium was the scene of India men’s team 2011 World Cup win.
England won the 2009 World Cup by beating New Zealand by four wickets in Sydney.

Related posts