Ashes dates announced


England’s second successive Ashes series next winter will begin in Brisbane on November 21. Cricket Australia released the dates for the five-Test portion of the 2013-14 tour, which also contains five one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches and begins just weeks after Australia depart England.
England have three tour matches, the first of which is against a Western Australia XI in Perth beginning on October 31, before the first Test and a fourth in between the first and second Tests.
Further Tests will take place at the Adelaide Oval, the WACA, the Melbourne Cricket Ground – the traditional Boxing Day game – and the Sydney Cricket Ground, finishing on January 7.
Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said: “We are delighted to be able to confirm the Ashes fixtures so far in advance of the Series. It means fans will be able to plan their trips around the country to follow all the action.
“I am sure there will be a lot of fans from the UK who will want to make the trip over and we look forward to hosting them here.”
England are facing the same opposition in back-to-back series – at home next summer and away in the winter – to prevent a quick turnaround between the Ashes and the World Cup, which takes place in Australia in early 2015.
The dates of the limited-overs fixtures have not yet been announced.
Ashes Series 2013-14
Brisbane, November 21-25, 2013:
Australia v England
Adelaide, December 5-9:
Australia v England
Perth, December 13-17:
Australia v England
Melbourne, December 26-30:
Australia v England
Sydney, January Friday 3-7, 2014:
Australia v England
Tour matches
Perth, October 31-November 2:
WA XI v England
Hobart, November 6-9:
Australia A v England
Sydney, November 13-16:
NSW XI v England
Canberra, November 29-30:
Chairman’s XI v England