Sri Lanka elect to bat, 280/4 after 50 overs


Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene elected to bat after winning the toss against Pakistan in the second one-day international in Pallekele on Saturday.
The tourists lead 1-0 in the five-match series following their six-wicket win in the opening one-dayer on Thursday.
Pakistan made one change as they brought in debutant paceman Rahat Ali in place of injured Mohammad Sami, while Sri Lanka retained the side.
Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath.
Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Rahat Ali.
Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)
TV umpire: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI)
Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


  1. The only contribution which Dev Whatmore has made with the Pakistani cricket team, since his taking over as head coach, seems to be that he has taken the Pakistani batting to the dogs.

Comments are closed.