Parliamentary committee regularises 3 BHC, 5 LHC judges


The Parliamentary Committee for the Appointment of Judges in High Courts has recommended the appointment of eight judges on a regular basis for the Balochistan High Court (BHC) and the Lahore High Court (LHC). The meeting of the committee was headed by Aftab Shabaan Mirani held in the Parliament House on Thursday. Mehtab Abbasi, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Ishaq Dar, Aitzaz Ahsan, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri and Khawja Asif attended the meeting.
Three BHC judges who got regularised are Justice Abdul Qadir Mengal, Justice Naeem Akhtar Afghan and Justice Hashim Kakar, while the five LHC judges are Justice Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi, Justice Abdul Sattar Asghar, Justice Mehmood Maqbool Bajwa, Justice Ameenuddin Khan and Justice Ameer Bhatti. The committee also extended a one-year job contract of four additional judges of the LHC who are Justice Chaudhry Muhammad Younis, Justice Syed Iftikhar Shah, Justice Muhammad Kazim Raza Hashmi and Justice Malik Shehzad Ahmad.