APNS General Council elects Executive Committee for the year 2012-13


The annual meeting of the APNS General Council held on March 31, 2012 has elected the Executive Committee for the year 2012-13 which unanimously elected Sarmad Ali as president, Mehtab Khan as senior vice president, Masood Hamid as secretary general, Ramiza Majeed Nizami as vice president, Imtinan Shahid as joint secretary and Javed Mehr Shamsi as finance secretary of the society.
The AGM held under the chairmanship of Hameed Haroon, president for the year 2011-12, unanimously approved the report of the Executive Committee for the preceding year as well as the annual accounts of the society.
The General Council, attended by 143 members from across the country, formed an Election Commission headed by Mr Younus Riaz, Mr Usman Arab Saati and Mr Owais Aslam Ali as members.
The Election Commission conducted the election of the Executive Committee for the year 2012-13. Following were elected unopposed: Karachi Daily Seats: Daily Aghaz Karachi, Daily Awami Awaz Karachi, Daily Business Recorder Karachi, Daily Jurat Karachi, Daily Kainat Karachi and Daily Qaumi Akhbar Karachi.
Lahore Daily Seats: Daily Jang Lahore, Daily Dawn Lahore, Daily Khabrain Lahore, Daily Nawa-i-Waqt Lahore, Daily Pakistan Lahore, Daily Pakistan Today Lahore.
Rawalpindi/Islamabad Daily Seats: Daily Ausaf Islamabad, Daily Sahafat Islamabad Balochistan Daily Seats: Daily Awam Quetta, Daily Balochistan Quetta Khyber Pakhtoon Khwa Daily Seats: Daily Mashriq Peshawar, Daily Wahdat Peshawar Sindh excluding Daily Karachi: Daily Kaleem Sukkur, Daily Kawish Hyderabad Punjab (excluding Lahore/Rwp/Ibd.): Daily Aftab Multan, Daily Business Report Faisalabad and Daily Paigham Faisalabad General Seats (Metropolitan Dailies): Daily Deyanat Karachi, Daily Pakistan Observer Islamabad General Seats (Regional Dailies): Daily Ibrat Hyderabad, Daily Tijarat Gujranwala Periodicals Seats: Monthly Kiran Digest Karachi, Monthly Naey Ufaq Karachi, Monthly Naya Rukh Karachi and Monthly Roohani Digest Karachi News & News Comments Periodical (Punjab / KPK): Weekly Azm Lahore News & News Comments Periodical (Sindh / Balochistan): Monthly Dastak Karachi News & News Comments Periodical (General): Monthly The Cricketer Karachi The President -elect nominated Shimaila Dawood Matri on woman – publishers seat.