Nayyar Bukhari elected Senate chairman | Pakistan Today

Nayyar Bukhari elected Senate chairman

Syed Nayer Hussain Bukhari has been elected as Chariman Senate and Sabir Baloch as Deputy Chairman Senate unopposed on Monday.
No other candidate filed nomination papers for the slots.
Earlier‚ 54 newly elected Senators took oath at a special session of the House on Monday. After taking oath they signed the senators roll.
Senator Afrasiab Khattak nominated by the President to preside over the session administered the oath to them.
The guests sitting in the lobbies chanted pro-PPP slogans as the new senators took oath.
It is for the first time that Pakistan Peoples Party has emerged as a majority party in the senate having forty-one seats.
Under the 18th amendment‚ for the first time‚ four minority senators have been elected from the four provinces.

Related posts



    Well done PPP & allies. Long live democracy !

Comments are closed.