ANP leads Senate polls in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa


Awami National Party (ANP) took lead in Senate elections of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa with 6 out of 12 seats, followed by four seats of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), with Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) both getting one seat each.
As many as 20 candidates partook in the elections; of them, six seats went to the ANP, four to the PPP and one each to the PML-N and JUI-F.
According to unofficial results, the ANP’s Azam Khan Hoti, Shahi Said and Baaz Muhammed Khan won on general seats. The PPP’s Ahmed Hasan and Saifullah Bangash took the other general seats. Talha Mehmood of the JUI-F and Nisar Khan of the PML-N also got a general seat each.

The minority seat went to the ANP’s Amar Singh and women reserved seat went to the ANP’s Zahida Khan and the PPP’s Rubina Khalid.

According to results, Farhatullah Babar grabbed one technocrat seat and the other seat went to Ilyas Bilour. NNI