PPP sweeps Senate polls by securing 19 seats


The Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) won 19 seats while PML-N remained second with eight seats in the Senate election held on Friday. The ANP won seven seats of Senate while five independent candidates were elected.
Similarly, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q), PML-F, JUI-F and BNP-A secured four seats each in the Senate.
According to details, in Punjab, PML-N leaders M Humza, Zulfiqar Khosa, Kamil Ali Agha, Mohsin Leghari and Rafiq Rajwana have won Senate seats. Hidayatullah, Najamul Hassan, Saleh Shah and Hilalur Rehman have been elected as senators from FATA.
In Sindh, Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Col (r) Tahir Mashadi, Nasreen Jaleel and Mustafa Kamal also won Senate seats. From the PPP, Raza Rabbani, Saeed Ghani and Mukhtiar Dhamra were successful.
From Balochistan, Hafiz Hamdullah, Nawabzada Saifullah Magsi, Israrullah Zahri were elected Senators.
Each of four provinces have 23 seats in the 104-member next Senate, with four going to the capital Islamabad and eight for the tribal areas in the northwest.
At least, 98 candidates were contesting the polls while the nine candidates from different political parties have already been elected unopposed. According to the final list issued by the Election Commission‚ there were ninety eight candidates in the field for forty five vacant seats.
The elections are being held on the retirement of fifty senators with additional four members to be elected first time on the seats reserved for minorities as a result of 18th Amendment.
Usman Saifullah of PPP and Mushahid Hussain Sayed of PML-Q have been elected unopposed from Islamabad.
Polling was held in the national and provincial assemblies. The members of the Lower House from FATA elected four senators from the area, and four minority members were elected for the first time in the history of the country.
From Punjab‚ PPP’s Aitzaz Ahsan and PML-N’s Ishaq Dar have been elected unopposed on the reserved seats for technocrats. Both the parties have also grabbed one seat each reserved for women. The senators elected unopposed on these seats are Nuzhat Sadiq and Khalida Parveen.
Another PML-N candidate Kamran Michael has also been elected unopposed on minority seat.


Comments are closed.