14 candidates to battle it out in NA-9 by-polls


Around 14 candidates, including seven independents, have submitted their nomination papers for the NA-9 Mardan-I bye-election in which 250,469 voters will exercise their right to elect their representative. The seat fell vacant following resignation of former federal minister Khawaja Muhammad Hoti, who joined the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) after quitting the ruling Awami National Party (ANP). According to the list, former Mardan nazim Himayatullah Mayar will be the ANP’s candidate while Litaf Gul will be his covering candidate.
Former MNA Shujaul Malik will represent the JUI-F while former MPA Israrul Haq will be his covering candidate. Despite the ANP’s efforts to woo the JUI-F for support, the religious party had started its campaign while the JI was also likely to support it. The ruling PPP had announced its support for the ANP. The JUI-P had fielded Zulqarnain while independents, including Inayat Shah Bacha, Abid Khan, Sarfraz Khan, Yasir Ali, Sajjad Khan, Muhammad Nawab, Said Umair and Asia Naz Awan were also in the battlefield.