Journalists’ Panel wins NPC elections again this year


The Journalists Panel Tuesday made a clean sweep in the National Press Club (NPC) elections. It was their sixth consecutive win. All the candidates of the panel won the elections by a huge margin. According to the results announced on Tuesday, Farooq Faisal Khan of Journalist Panel has been elected President of NPC for year 2011-12. He got 590 votes while his opponent Kamal Azfar of Muttahida Panel bagged 274 votes.
Shehriar Khan was elected as NPCA secretary by securing 591 votes, his opponent Baqir Sajjad Syed got 275. Similarly Afzal Javid of the Journalists Panel was elected finance secretary. Javid bagged 586 votes while his opponent Ikram Bokhari could get 285 votes.
The successful candidates for Vice Presidents for Journalist Panel were Asim Ali Rana with 622 votes, Syed Amir Sajjad with 483 votes and Syed Ijaz Ahmed with 446 votes.
For the three slots of joint secretary, Attaullah Rajar with 591 votes, Nasir Mahmood 458 votes and Sagheer Ahmed with 570 votes were declared winners respectively. Those who were elected as members of the NPC Governing Body included Anwar Raza, Abdul Rasheed Khan, Asghar Chaudhry, Asim Yasin, Azhar Abidi, Bashir Usmani, Farhat Abbas, Javid Qureshi, Mubarik Zeb Khan, Muhammad Rizwan, Shahid Mahmood Malik, Shahnaz Tatari, Shahmim Anwar Khan, Syed Abrar Kanwal and Yasir Mailk.


  1. May we know what happened at night after elections. What was the story of bogus votes…who polled the bogus votes…..who were those drunkyards making hey and indulged in brawl when a demand for repoll was raised after discovery of bogus votes……I think a reporter must have the courage and Editor of this newspaper must have the professional integrity to ask the reporter to give complete story…

Comments are closed.