Army, Sindh, Punjab enjoy plain sailing


WAPDA, Sindh, Railways, Punjab (C) and Army had an easy sailing in their matches on day two of the 27th National Women’s Hockey Championship being played here at the National Hockey Stadium
On Saturday, as many as five matches were played and apart from Sindh’s match against Punjab, all the teams got through with big margins. In the first match, WAPDA beat Balochistan by 16 goals with half the goals coming in the first session. Aisha Bashir and Kanwal Aslam with four goals each were the tough baits to handle while Azra Nasir and Rabia Qadir shared two goals each and Iram, Saba, Amna Mir and Nilma hit one goal each for WAPDA.
In the second match, Sindh (C) beat Punjab (W) by a solitary goal and the only goal of the match was scored by Sindh’s Sumaira. In the third match of the day, Railway got past HEC with four goals having conceded just one. And surprisingly all the four goals of winners came from Hina Kanwal while HEC reduced the margin through Ambreen. In the fourth match, Punjab (C) hammered KPK with 11 goals with seven coming in the first half. Iram banged half-a-dozen goals for Punjab with two coming from Sidra Younis while Afsha, Madiha and Shafaq shared one goal each. In the fifth and final match of the day, Army defeated Sindh (W) 6-1. By half-time the teams were on level terms 1-1 and the winning team produced the remaining goals in the second session. Army’s Shargeel got two goals while Aisha Rafiq, Taiba, Shahida and Taskeen shared one goal each. From the losing side, it was Madiha who reduced the score.
Earlier on day one, WAPDA, Punjab C, Railways, Balochistan and HEC won their matches. The opening ceremony of the 27th National Women’s Hockey Championship was performed by Punjab Governor Sardar Muhammad Latif Khosa at National Hockey Stadium. Speaking on the occasion he praised the efforts of the PHF and also pointed out that there will not be any unconstitutional move in the country. On the occasion, Honorary Secretary Mrs. Tanzeela Aamir Cheema, Organising Secretary Mrs. Abida Tanveer and Tournament Director Miss Parveen Sikandar Gill were also present.
In the opening match of the day, WAPDA beat Army 1-0. The winning goal of the match came in the second half when WAPDA’S Nadia Kazim found an opening just before the close of the match. In the second match, Punjab (C) beat Sindh (C) 9-0. They brought three goals in the second half after they hammered Sindh with six goals in the first 35 minutes. Sidra Younis, captain of the team, produced three goals for Punjab (C) with Iram getting four, Afshan Noreen and Mobeen Ilyas sharing one goal each. In the third match, Railway thrashed Sindh (W) by 10 goals. Leading the match by four goals at half-time, Railway’s Hina Kanwal sent the ball through the polls five times, Maria Sabir repeated the activity twice, similarly Asma Ashraf did the same while Aqsa Mumtaz got one goal. In the fourth match, HEC beat Punjab (W) by seven goals after leading the match by three at half time. HEC got their goals through Mamoona (four goals), Uzma (two goals) and Sehrish Ghuman (one goal). In the last match of the day, Balochistan beat KPK 4-1. Balochaistan got one goal in the first half while the remaining three came in the second session but in the process they conceded one goal to KPK. Balochistan goal scorers were Faryal Durkhaj and Masooma Mirza, who hit three while Sundas scored from KPK.