JCP approves four names for SC judges | Pakistan Today

JCP approves four names for SC judges

The Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) on Thursday approved the names of four judges for their appointment as judges of the Supreme Court, including incumbent Lahore High Court Chief Justice Ijaz Ahmad Chaudhry and sitting Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan. The commission also nominated Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed as the next chief justice of the Lahore High Court, while naming Justice Dost Muhammad Khan the next chief justice of the Peshawar High Court. Besides, the commission approved the names of Justice Gulzar Ahmed from the Sindh High Court and Justice (r) Athar Syed for induction as judges to the Supreme Court.
The names would now be forwarded to the parliamentary committee for approval. The commission also recommended three names for appointment as Islamabad High Court judges. They include president of Rawalpindi Bench of the Lahore High Court Shaukat Siddiqui, FATA District & Sessions Judge Azeem Afridi and MA Qureshi advocate from Sindh.

Related posts