Young Rising Stars clinch National Women’s title


Defending champions Young Rising Stars Women Football Club lifted the seventh National Women’s Football Championship title after defeating Diya Club by 4-3 on sudden death penalty shootouts in the final at Pakistan Sports Board Jinnah Stadium, Islamabad on Friday. Diya’s Hajra scored the goal in the 18th minute of the first half through a long range effort, Young Rising goalie went wrong way and the ball slided in to the empty net that was the first time during the entire tournament when Young Rising conceded a goal and their goalie Syeda Mahpara Shahid was beaten. After scoring the first goal Diya players continued to press for another and went on to attack Young Rising goal.
At the end of the first half Diya Club were leading by 1-0.In the second half Young Rising Stars players showed nice display. Diya girls were put under a lot of pressure by Young Rising girls and they were finding it difficult to move the ball away from their half, Young Rising pressure paid off in the 52nd minute when Malika was fouled in the “D” by Diya defender, the referee pointed at the spot, Malika came forward and converted the penalty after beating Diya goalie. At the end of the regular time both the teams were leveled at 1-1.
Both teams were failed to score in the twenty minutes of extra time. The match went in to penalty shootouts. Young Rising Stars won the final on sudden death penalty shootouts by 4-3.
Australian embassy Deputy High Commissioner Paul Malloy was the chief guest of the final, along with Pakistan Football Federation Secretary Ahmed Yar Lodhi, former DG, PSB Brig (r) Arif Siddiqui, DG (Technical and Tanning) PSB Akhtar Nawaz Ganjera and PFF Women Wing Rubina Irfan. The winner’s trophy along with Rs 0.3million was awarded to Young Rising captain by the chief guest, the runners up trophy and Rs 0.2 million were given to Diya Club while WAPDA got third position trophy and Rs one hundred and fifty thousand.