Razzaq joins 100-wicket club in T20 cricket


Abdur Razzaq became the sixth Pakistani and 15th bowler overall to take 100 or more wickets in T20 cricket. The right-arm fast-medium bowler from Lahore achieved this feat, in his 90th match, by dismissing Ruhuna’s Janaka Gunaratne, caught by wicket-keeper Paul Nixon, while playing for Leicestershire in the Champions League qualifying match at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad, on Wednesday (September 21).
Abdur Razzaq, who made his debut in T20 cricket for Middlesex against Surrey at The Oval on June 13, 2003, took eight years and 101 days to reach this landmark.
Dirk Nannes (153 wickets in 117 matches), Alfonson Thomas (130 wickets in 108 matches), Albie Morkel (128 wickets in 154 matches), Yasir Arafat (122 wickets in 103 matches), Shahid Afridi (115 wickets in 92 matches), Andrew Hall (115 wickets in 90 matches), Muttiah Muralitharan (115 wickets in 97 matches), Lasith Malinga (114 wickets in 88 matches), Charl Langeveldt (113 wickets in 84 matches), Kieron Pollard (109 wickets in 115 matches), Saeed Ajmal (106 wickets in 73 matches), Azhar Mahmood (105 wickets in 96 matches), Umar Gul (104 wickets in 70 matches) and Dimitri Mascarenhas (102 wickets in 83 matches) were the other bowlers to take 100 or more wickets in T20 cricket before Abdur Razzaq who played for Hampshire, Lahore Lions, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Pakistan, Pakistanis, Sialkot Stallions, Surrey in this form of cricket.


Comments are closed.