PIAF-Founders get more support


Traders of Shahalam Market, PASPIDA and Anjuman-e-Tajran Badami Bagh have announced their full support for PIAF-Founders Alliance for the forthcoming elections of LCCI Corporate & Associate Classes being held on September 20th and 21st respectively. The announcement was made on the occasion of PIAF-Founders Alliance leaders and candidates meeting with Shahalam Market, PASPIDA and Anjuman-e-Tajran Badami Bagh on Thursday.
Speaking on the occasion, PIAF-Founders Alliance leaders said that business community was upset because of unavailability of electricity and gas, high markup rate and deteriorating law and order situation. They said that menace of corruption and smuggling were hitting trade, industry hard while devastating floods in Sindh province are adding fuel to the fire.
Alliance leaders said that PIAF-Founders Alliance was serving the business community without any greed and lust. Last year goods worth millions of rupees were dispatched for the help of catastrophe-hit people in the flood-affected areas of the country. They said that Alliance would continue its golden traditions and leave no stone unturned for the help of its ailing brothers and sisters.
Ealier, PIAF-Founders Alliance leaders got a warm welcome by the traders of Shahalam Market and PASPIDA. All the businessmen unanimously announced that they will cast their vote for the PIAF-Founders Alliance candidates on September 20 and 21. PIAF-Founders Alliance leaders also inaugurated the Alliance election campaign office jointly established by Guard Group of Industries and Anjuman-e-Tajran Badami Bagh. A large number of traders attended the ceremony. A lunch was also hosted in the honor of PIAF-Founders Alliance leaders and candidates by the Guard Group.
Inset: Twenty three candidates are in the running for 8 Corporate Class seats and 7 Associate Class seats while PIAF-Founders Alliance had already won unopposed on one seat reserved for women.
As many as 12 people filed their nomination papers for 8 seats of corporate class while 18 people filed nomination papers for seven seats of associate class. Three people withdrew their papers from corporate class and 4 people from associate class.
According to final list of candidates Mian Abuzar Shad, Kashif Younis Meher, Shahzeb Akram, Ahmed Hasnain, Raees A. Sheikh, Hasnain Reza Mirza, Syed Mehmood Ghaznavi, Shoaib Zahid Malik and Khalid Javed Rabbani are in the run for 8 corporate class seats while Irfan Qaiser Sheikh, Aftab Ahmad Vohra, Khamis Saeed, Nasir Saeed, Mohammad Amjad Chaudhry, Zeshan Khalil, Waqar Ahmad Mian, Raja Hsssan Akhtar, Mohammad Nawaz, Sahibzada Ahmed Rasool Mian, Mohammad Manzoor Butt, Mohammad Ijaz, Mohammad Azeem and Gull Maan will be contesting for 7 associate class seats. Polling will continue from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with one-hour lunch and prayer break. Provisional results of the election will be announced on same day after the completion of polling process. Election for the office-bearers will held on September 25th.