MPs united against bureaucracy for privileges | Pakistan Today

MPs united against bureaucracy for privileges

Legislators across the political divide criticised the ‘disgusting’ attitude of the bureaucracy and Punjab Police towards members of provincial assembly and demanded prompt action against the civil servants involved in the scorn of legislators’ privilege.
During the Punjab Assembly session on Tuesday, legislators from both treasury and opposition joined hand for the sake of MPs privilege, saying being members of the provincial assembly had become a symbol of discredit and civil servants felt pride and honour in disgracing a lawmaker. They said MPAs avoided facing public servants to safeguard their dignity due to this very attitude.
Upon several complaints by MPAs, PA Deputy Speaker Rana Mashhood Ahmed Khan passed a ruling that the assembly had to decide whether it must ensure respect of lawmakers’ privilege or to surrender it completely. He said the speaker, deputy speaker and law minister would review the behaviour of civil servants on the whole and would intimate the House about the findings and recommendations during Wednesday (today’s) session.
On the occasion, the government assured the House of ensuring the implementation on the recommendations forwarded by the privilege committee to ensure respect and privilege of the honourable members of the assembly. Opposition member Malik Muhammad Abbass presented a privilege motion against the deplorable attitude of Multan Police. Syed Hassan Murtaza , Syed nazim Shah, Fouzia Behram, Raja Shaukat Aziz Bhatti, Zobia Rubab Malik, Amna Ulfat, Tahir Sindhu and Mian Ahsan from opposition benches and Sanaullah Mastikhel, Abdul Razzaque Dhilon, Saeed Akbar Nivani, Mian Rafique and Ali Haider Noor Khan Niazi actively participated in the debate against the behaviour of civil servants.
Rana Sanaullah said since the ban was imposed on illegal business, no licence had been issued to any party for money lending and per law, no one had the provision to act as private money lender. Meanwhile, the assembly passed a resolution with majority vote to bring Punchayat system under legal a framework. The resolution was forwarded by Humaira Awais Shahid.
PPP lawmakers Sajida Mir, Syed Hassan Murtaza and PML-N’s Tahir Khalikl Sindhu opposed the resolution, while Tahir Asghar Munda, Mualana Ilyas Chinioti and Amir Dogar supported it. The Punjab government also announced donating one month’s salary of provincial ministers, parliamentary secretaries, special assistants and PML-N MPAs for flood-affected people in Sindh.
Sanaullah said PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif had also decided to make a donation. PPP Deputy Parliamentary Leader Shaukat Basra praised Nawaz, but said floods had also played havoc in Bahalwalpur and the government should initiate steps to help the people there as well. Later, the chair adjourned the House until 10am today (Wednesday).