Six ATC judges appointed


Following the Supreme Court’s directives, the Sindh government has made six anti-terrorism courts (ATCs) of the province operational on Wednesday by filling the vacant posts of judges. The Home Department has appointed district and sessions judges in the ATCs in different districts for two and half years from the dates they assume the charge of their assignment. Ghulam Mustafa G Memon, a district and sessions judge has been appointed judge of ATC-III Karachi, Rasheed Ahmed of ATC Jacobabad, Muhammad Shahid Shafiq of ATC Badin, Saghar Hussain Zaidi of ATC Shaheed Benazirabad, Saeed Hasan of ATC Khairpur and retired district and sessions judge Muhammad Javed Alam of ATC Hyderabad. Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry, while hearing the suo motu notice on Karachi killings, had taken notice of the vacant posts of judges in different ATCs in the province and issued directives to fill the vacancies.