Pakistan Premier League begins today


The eighth edition of the Pakistan Premier League 2011, featuring 12 departmental and four clubs’ teams will kick off Tuesday (today) simultaneously in Quetta and Karachi.
On the opening day, Muslim FC will face PMC ATH FC at Sadiq Shaheed Stadium in Quetta while HBL compete with Navy at Peoples Football Stadium and KESC will fight against Army at KPT Football Stadium in Karachi.
All the 16 teams, which are taking part in the five month marathon event, will conclude on December 28. The participating teams comprise WAPDA, KRL, PIA, KESC, Army, KPT, PAF, Afhan FC, Navy, PEL, Baloch FC, NBP, HBL, Punjab Media College (PMC ATH FC), Police and Muslim FC.
Out of a total of the 240 matches, 70 will be played before Ramadan at seven venues in the four cities of the country. The venues approved for holding the matches in Karachi are Peoples Football Stadium that would host 16 matches, KPT Football Stadium (19), Sadiq Shaheed Stadium, Quetta will host 32 matches, Noushki Football Stadium two matches and Government High School Chaman one match.
WAPDA have won the Premier League four times, Army two times and KRL one time. Each team will play 30 matches on home and away basis. Each match have a match bonus of Rs30, 000 while the prize money of the first position is Rs7,00,000, Rs5,00,000 for the runner-up and Rs4,00,00 for the third position.
Best player, highest scorer, best goalkeeper, best match commissioner, best referee and the best assistant referee of the league will be awarded Rs1,50,000, Rs1,00,000, Rs1,00,000, Rs1,00,000, Rs1,00,000 and Rs50,000 respectively.