Afridi, PCB bury the hatchet


The Pakistan Cricket Board on Tuesday confirmed that former captain Shahid Afridi and Chairman PCB Ijaz Butt met in Islamabad. The PCB hand out stated that the PCB would not make any further comments on the discussions that have been taken place between the Chairman PCB and Afridi.
However, it has been learnt that the meeting was part of the efforts of some of the political forces who wanted the cricketer and the chairman to reach an out-of-court solution. “At this stage PCB will not make any further comments on the discussions that have taken place between the Chairman PCB and Shahid Afridi,” the statement said.
However, according to sources, the meeting was held with an aim to reach a quick solution to the crisis engulfing Pakistan cricket at present. Afridi agreed to withdraw the case against the PCB in Sindh High Court and also to appear before its disciplinary committee. Some sections of the media stated that the former skipper was likely to be reissued clearance to play overseas after he withdraws his petition against the PCB.
The PCB will issue the NOC for Afridi after he appears before the committee. After getting the required permission Afridi will be able to play for Hampshire County in a T20 tournament in England and Sri Lanka Premier League. Afridi went to court after the PCB punished him for allegedly breaching the code of conduct by announcing his retirement and levelling allegations against the board. The board suspended the central contract of the all-rounder and revoked all his NOCs, thus stopping him to play in England and Sri Lanka.
The Sindh High Court adjourned Afridi’s case until June 16, when PCB officials are expected to justify their sanctions against the player before a two-member bench makes a decision. No vendetta against AFridi: PCB: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has clarified that the proceedings against Afridi are according to the board’s regulations and are not a result of any personal grudge against the former skipper.
PCB’s Chief Operating Officer, Subhan Ahmed said that the board respects the player’s professional achievements and contributions to the Pakistani team, but will not be compromising on misconduct. The row between the PCB and the former skipper started following the conclusion of the Caribbean tour, where Afridi criticised the team’s head coach, Waqar Younis, on media, alleging unnecessary interference in team affairs.
The PCB took strict notice Afridi’s media adventures and removed him from One-Day captaincy just before the ODI series against Ireland. Misbah-ul-Haq, the Test skipper was given charge of the limited overs side as well, until a permanent replacement was found. “So, as a disciplinary step he was removed as captain for the Ireland series and disciplinary process was initiated against him for criticising the board after his retirement,” Subhan explained.
KCCA awaits PCB nod on Afridi’s eligibility as Karachi skipper: The Karachi City Cricket Association (KCCA) is waiting for reply from Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to know whether Shahid Afridi is allowed to lead Karachi Dolphins in National Super Eight T20 Cup or not. “We are waiting for reply from PCB about Afridi’s eligibility to lead Karachi Dolphins in T20 Cup,” KCCA President Syed Sirajul Islam Bokhari said in statement on Monday.
The National Super Eight T20 Cup is scheduled to start in Faisalabad from June 26 while captain’s joint press conference is being held in Lahore in the next few days. In the meantime, Karachi Dolphins’ net session for the event will start from at National Stadium from Tuesday at 3.00 p.m. Players are advised to report Manager Razik Rabbani. KCCA have named 20 probables to pick Karachi Dolphins squad.
Name of spinner Haris Ayaz has been added among the probables. Karachi Dolphins probables are: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Muhammad Sami (Vice Captain), Khalid Latif, Shahzaib Hasan, Asad Shafiq, Rameez Raja, Fawwad Alam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Tariq Haroon, Misbah Khan, Sohail Khan, Rameez Aziz, Tanvir Ahmed, Fazal Subhan, Sheharyar Ghani, Muhammad Waqas, Junaid Ilyas, Afsar Nawaz, Ali Mudassar and Azam Hussain.