SC larger bench to take up ZAB reference today


An 11-member larger bench of the Supreme Court will take up today (Monday) a presidential reference for revisiting the death sentence of former prime minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto.
The bench headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry comprises Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Mian Shakirullah Jan, Justice Nasirul Mulk, Justice Muhammad Sair Ali, Justice Mahmood Akhtar Shahid Siddiqui, Justice Jawwad S Khawaja, Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali, Justice Khilji Arif Hussain, Justice Sarmad Jalal Osmany and Justice Ghulam Rabbani.
Ten senior lawyers including Ali Ahmed Kurd, Tariq Mahmood, Abdul Hafeez Pirzada, Fakhruddin G Ebrahim, Makhdoom Ali Khan, SM Zafar, Aitzaz Ahsan, Zahoorul Haq and Abdul Latif Afridi will assist the court as amicus curiae. Khalid Anwar, another lawyer appointed by the SC to assist the court, has excused himself citing personal reasons, a private TV channel reported.