Imran to lead Pakistan in Azlan Shah Cup, PHF announces


The Pakistan Hockey Federation on Thursday announced the 18-member squad for Azlan Shah hockey tournament to be played next month. Mohammad Imran was named as the new captain of the team. Pakistan won the Azlan Shah event in 1987 and 1991. The tournament will be held in Ipoh, Malaysia, from May 5 to 15, with world champions Australia, Britain, India, Malaysia, New Zealand and South Korea in attendance.
Pakistan, three times Olympic and four times world champions, won the Asian Games title last year after they hired Dutch coach Michel van den Heuvel in June 2010. They face New Zealand in their opening match and India on May 11.
Squad: Mohammad Imran
(captain), Shakil Abassi (vice captain), Imran Shah, Imran Khan, Sohail
Abbas, Waseem Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Tauseeq, Fareed Ahmed, Mohammad Rashid, Waqas Sharif, Haseem Khan, Mohammad Rizwan Ali, Mohammad Zubair, Mohammad Umar Bhutta, Kashif Shah, Rehan Butt, Waqas Akbar.