‘Allrounder’ Afridi in ICC’s World Cup XI


MUMBAI – World Cup runners-up Sri Lanka contributed four players and champions India just three to the International Cricket Council’s team of the tournament announced on Sunday.
India defeated fellow tournament co-hosts Sri Lanka by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday, with captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni making a man-of-the-match winning 91 not out.
But the ICC’s five-man panel of experts, looking at the World Cup as a whole, opted for Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara as skipper.
The other Sri Lankans in the team were dashing opener Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene and veteran off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, who made his final international appearance.
India’s trio were Sachin Tendulkar, a World Cup winner at the sixth attempt, all-rounder Yuvraj Singh — the man of the tournament — and left-arm quick Zaheer Khan.
Khan was the tournament’s joint most-successful bowler with 21 wickets alongside Pakistan leg-spinner and captain Shahid Afridi.
The global govering body’s all-star XI was completed by the South Africa duo of batsman/keeper AB de Villiers and fast bowler Dale Steyn and Australia all-rounder Shane Watson.
ICC’s team of the World Cup (in batting order):
Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI, capt/wkt), Mahela Jayawardene (SRI), AB de Villiers (RSA), Yuvraj Singh (IND), Shane Watson (AUS), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Dale Steyn (RSA), Zaheer Khan (IND), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI)
12th man: Tim Southee (NZL)