Vettori returns as Kiwis bat first


DHAKA – New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and elected to bat in the World Cup quarter-final against South Africa at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium on Friday.
Vettori returned to the side after missing the last two matches due to a knee injury.
South Africa continued with the strategy of playing three spinners in Johan Botha, Robin Peterson and Imran Tahir, besides two fast bowlers in Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel.
The winner will meet either Sri Lanka or England in the semi-final in Colombo on March 29.
The squads are as follows:
New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (capt), Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock.
South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir.
Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Rod Tucker (AUS)
TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)