Centre to retain 7 Labour Ministry departments


ISLAMABAD – Around seven departments of the Ministry of Labour and Manpower will not be devolved to the provinces and would remain the federal subject, an official told Pakistan Today on Saturday. “There are seven major wings of the Ministry of Labour and Manpower that will not be devolved to the provinces. They include Overseas Employment Corporation, National Training Bureau, Directorate of Workers Education, Pakistan Institute of Manpower and Human Resource Department,” Arslan Ahmed, an official of the ministry, informed.
The official said that the reason for the departments staying under the centre was that their scope of work had national and international significances. “The Overseas Employment Corporation has to deal with other countries and similarly the Human Resource Department and Pakistan Institute of Manpower are of national importance”, he added.