Parliamentary committee rejects appointment of four judges


ISLAMABAD – Accepting Judicial Commission of Pakistan’s proposed one year extension of 20 additional judges of the Lahore High Court, the parliamentary committee on judges’ appointment on Wednesday rejected extension of four additional judges of the High Court.
The committee which met here with Senator Nayyar Hussain Bukhari in the chair rejected JCP’s proposal for granting one year extension to four additional judges of the LHC including Justice Mazhar Ali, Justice Yawar Ali, Justice Mamoon Rashid and Justice Farrukh Irfan.
The committee also confirmed one year extension for 2 additional judges of the Peshawar High Court and 1 additional judge of the Sindh High Court. It is first time that the parliamentary committee rejected nominations of JCP as earlier it always endorsed recommendations of the Judicial Commission for appointment or extension in superior courts.