CM turns dow bid to regularise LDA employees


LAHORE: Following the charges of corruption and violation of merit in appointments, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has turned down the summary submitted by Lahore Development Authority to get permanent statues of hundreds of employees appointed on contract basis through the National Testing Service (NTS) since 2009, Pakistan Today learnt on Saturday.
Lahore Development Authority had dispatched the summary in the last week of the November seeking permanent status of all contractual assistant directors in different wings, project director (IT), Enforcement Inspectors, computer specialists, computer officers and data entry operators.
The summary was in process when the Chief Minister Inspection Team Chairman raised 19 points including deep reservations on the appointment procedures which it believed had been violated by some influential officials of LDA. Though, the LDA answered the 19 points to save its skin but CM Punjab remained dissatisfied.
Feeling that LDA’s reply was unable to answer the queries Shahbaz Sharif disapproved the summary and sent it back to LDA, summoning complete appointment data with immediate effect. A CM secretariat official told Pakistan Today that LDA had started hiring on a three years contract since 2009. It appointed Mansoor Butt as Project Director (IT) on the influence of top LDA official.
Around 46 assistant directors, most of them women in Town Planning, were hired on 3-year contract in June 2009. The first batch appointed through NTS comprised Sidra Tabassum, Muhammad Qadir Al-Hasnain, Attiya Haseeb, Muhammad Dawood, Aisha Nazir, Salman Sabir, Hinna Yousaf, Imran Mehdi, Saddiqa Amin, Rameen Ch, Faiza Ashraf, Saleha Shahid, Momna Shaukat, Bushra Khalid, Fozia Aslam, Tayyaba Sehar in Town Planning Branch.
Muhammad Mohasn Azeem, Muhammad Zeeshan, Nasir Ghafoor, Muhammad Khuraam Yaqoob, Humaira Sharif, Rabeel Butt, Waseem Zafar, Ali Bin Sohail, Wajahat Ali, Solat Abbas, Habiba Aslam, Attiq Ahmed, Zafar Iqbal, Khurram Fakhar Saddiqi, Rehan Athar, and Yasir Ch as assistant directors in general cadre. Khashif Imran, Muhamamd Asim, Bisma Asif, Rizwan Shaukat, Farhan Jamil, Ghulam Abbas, Azam Hussain, Syed Abban Muhammad Subhani, Rana Kamran Haider as assistant director accounts.
Muhammad Imran, Muhammad Ahsan Latif, Abdul Razzaq, Farhana Mumtaz and Muhammad Aslam as assistant director Law. The Second Batch of 73 assistant directors was appointed in July 2010 through NTS. Around 25 assistant directors in general cadre, 22 assistant directors in Engineering branch, 12 in Town Planning Branch and 11 assistant directors were hired in Law branch.
Syed Muhammad Asif, Amina Arshad, Waqas Ijaz, Muhammad Anadil Khan, Jawad Ali, Yasir Iqbal, Muhammad Mehmood Aslam, Haider Shujah, Habib Hussain, Muhamamd Umer Nasim, Asad Ullah, Hussain Aakif, Muhamamd Umer Shoaib, Muhammad Faizan, Umer Farooq, Muhammad Arsalan, Kamran Pervaiz, Muhammad Tayyab, Jawan Raza Qureshi, Sarman Zameer Khan, Abdul Wahid, Khyzer Hiyat, Hina Rukh, Roy Shajar Abbas and Muhammad Nauman in General Cadre.
While, the investigation were going on, LDA braved to announce the names of candidates who have been selected as Assistant Directors against 29 posts in the General Cadre and 15 vacancies in the Town Planning Wing of the authority some days back. For General Cadre of LDA the selected delegates were Sara Parveen, Amin Haider Shah, Muhammad Nauman Aqil Khan, Muhammad Junaid, Abdul Rauf, Wazir Khan Virk, Muhammad Yawar Bashir, Muhammad Saber, Syed Abid Hassan, Muhammad Khaliq Ur Rehman,
Sabita Sajjad, Hammad Salim, Masooma Bushra Ali, Umair Saleem, Malik Muhammad Afzal Ayub, Uzair Bin Tariq, Muhammad Rizwan Iqbal, Faiz Ahmed Raza, Rana Umer Saeed, Syeda Ayisha Najeeb Bukhari, Muhammad Usman Tahir, Muhammad Zubair Khan, Hafeez Ullah, Asad Ali Maan, Mirza Faiz Ur Rehman Baig, Muhammad Sohail Anjum, Fahad Najib, Omer Liaqat Randhawa and Basit Aziz.
Assistant Director Town Planning Wing of LDA included Irfan Ahmad Rana, Salman Raza, Maria Ali, Tahir Ahmed Qureshi, Afraz Akhtar, Zubia Ashraf, Syed Ali Abbas, Abdul Rehman, Uzma Munir, Syeda Iffat Zahra, Sumaira Niazi, Ahmad Saeed Sultan and Mariya Shahid.