PML-N proposes 4 names for committee to probe ‘poll rigging’


–Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Tanveer, Rana Sanaullah and Murtaza Javed Abbasi’s names to represent party in govt’s proposed body


ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) parliamentary party on Monday agreed on four names to be put forward for a committee that the government has announced to form for investigating allegations of rigging in the July 25 elections.

Last week, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government had agreed to form a parliamentary committee on the opposition’s demand to probe charges of rigging in the elections. The committee would have equal representation from the government and opposition.

The PML-N has decided to nominate Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Tanveer, Rana Sanaullah and Murtaza Javed Abbasi as possible candidates for the body.

The decision was made in a parliamentary meeting chaired by PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif at Parliament House. Other senior party leaders, including Iqbal, Khawaja Asif and Marriyum Aurangzeb attended the meeting.