PML-N sweeps second phase of cantonment board elections


The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has swept the second phase of Cantonment Board Local Bodies elections on Friday, as voting was held for the selection of chairman, vice chairman and special seats in the cantonment boards throughout the country.

PML-N swept the Lahore elections as it won all the four special seats from Lahore. One of the four PTI members dissented and voted for PML-N candidate. PML-N had won 6 seats from Cantt while PTI had bagged 4.

In Gujranwala, equal number of votes were cast in favour of both the parties. Therefore, decision was held on the basis of draw, according to which the PTI candidate won the seat.

In Sialkot, PML-N’s Shakila Akhtar won on women’s seat. PML-N’s Ishtiaq Bhatti also secured the minorities’ seat. In Multan, PML-N’s Farhana Arshad secured the only women’s seat on the offer. On the minorities’ seat, Rafaqat Maseeh of PML-N was elected without contest.

Inamullah Khan Kundi of the PTI secured the vice-chairman’s seat in Dera Ismail Khan uncontested.

In Rawalpindi Cantonment Board elections, Yousaf Gill secured the minorities’ seat and Malik Munir got the farmers’ seat while Pervez Sahotra won the minorities’ seat from Chaklala while Chaudhry Iftikhar secured the farmers’ seat uncontested.